What a Woman!

 

mothers-day-1372466_1920

 

 “Many women do noble things, but you surpass them all.” Proverbs 31:29

I know it’s a day late…but this blog post is dedicated to my Mummy, to mark Mother’s Day. I am so inspired by her and hopefully after reading this post, you’ll understand why. The format is slightly different today, trying something new…let me know what you think of it in the comments below, it was just a spontaneous idea really. Well let’s start writing!

 

Dear Mum,

I just want to say how in awe I am of you. Since my birth I have watched you tirelessly work to better yourself and our family. Studying and working, which as a young adult now I know is NOT easy, especially not with a young child! Even with your busy schedule you were still the “mother of the home,” ensuring we all ate, the house was cleaned and your presence was felt. You worked with Dad to build a flourishing home, a home we still all love and live in. When I couldn’t sleep, you read to me…when I cried about my eczema, you cradled me in your bosom and when I was mischievous (which was often) you corrected me in kindness and love.

Fast forward a couple of years; I was 14 and starting my GCSE year. That’s when you told me. That you would start kidney dialysis. In my ears that sounded foreign and frightening and so I shrunk back to my 5yr old self and cried. Even then, like a rock you comforted and reassured me you’d be fine. For seven years I watched you go through kidney dialysis. Even in the midst of that you battled with Hep C, adverse reactions to your medication…vomiting…loss of weight and almost blindness! But did people know? No. Even in the midst of your greatest battle, you were still clothed with strength and dignity. I can’t say I was the easiest of teens, I had my ups and downs and the typical “I’m an adult” attitude yet you tolerated me and didn’t withhold your wise guidance from me. Baby Josh was still young, yet you never gave him a reason to be scared or “worry about mummy.” And to think you continued working full time alongside dialysis 3 days a week, still baffles me but when it came to finances, you were dad’s partner and still contributed what you could. Each year I watched you console and support others, shifting the attention from yourself to others. Did I say how in awe I am of you? Your face showed no fear, your lips never quivered and your eyes reflected hope at all times, seeing the warrior in you made me a warrior in various areas of my own life, a trait that I still have today. 

In 2015, God heard our prayers. 7 years later. The number for completion. You were set free from what you called “your tsunami”; the battle was won. Did you recover, forget and move on? No. You wrote a book, sharing your journey to document God’s faithfulness BUT also to encourage and inspire others like you. And now you have started a charity in Nigeria, supporting and educating patients who you used to be like. In the valleys you sought to help others and now even in the mountain your heart for people hasn’t changed. Your journey showed me that the battle certainly isn’t for the swiftest but to those who persevere. I pray that I inherit your tenacity and patience! 

I am so fortunate and proud to be your daughter. You are an epitome of God’s love. Your heart is sincere, your walk is filled with boldness, your back is clothed with dignity, and your head is crowned with strength while you wear a badge of honour. Have I ever told you how in awe of you I am? Mother of two biologically but a mother to many in other ways, it is not just restricted to us but your love crosses streets and oceans. Never change. God placed inside of you a beautiful treasure, I have discovered it and I will cherish it forever.

 Yours Truly,

Chiné  

Xxxx

*Info about her book and website (in case you know anyone going through kidney dialysis/on kidney transplant list).

Book: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Facing-Wall-Life-His-Hands-ebook/dp/B01EBJY47U?ie=UTF8&%2AVersion%2A=1&%2Aentries%2A=0

Charity: http://inspirationandhope.org.ng/ 

5 thoughts on “What a Woman!

  1. This is such a beautiful tribute to your mother. I loved reading and she is truly an inspiration to many. I loved when you said,” Even in the midst of your greatest battle, you were still clothed with strength and dignity.” Such great us of scripture. Thanks for this beautiful post and keep writing !

    Like

  2. Beautiful tribute to your Mum!!! This is also a good reminder for me to tell and show people how we feel about them regularly, as a way to honor and encourage them. Wonderfully done, Sis!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

