Reflections

blog 9

I remember when I was in secondary school, around 13-15 years old and there were some girls that I would really admire…to the extent that I would want to change my dressing, way of speaking and behaviour in order to emulate them. Be a reflection of them. At the time it seemed harmless but  now I’ve grown a little wiser and confident, I see how damaging it was to my self-esteem and self-identity. You see, it is not a bad thing to admire and celebrate someone due to their gift, physical beauty, dressing etc but when you seek to change yourself or start to resent yourself as a result – the line has been crossed.

In the bible (Psalm 139:14 to be precise…) it says we are “…fearfully and wonderfully made.” When we were created, God was full of reverence and respect for us but also with the intention to make us unique individuals with a specific purpose. A lot of thought and care went into our making…so many humans…yet our DNA is different (except for mono zygotic twins…there are ways still…but i won’t get into that!). The diversity seen across the human species shows how beauty/talent can be expressed in many forms. Beauty is not an absolute term. Let us learn to celebrate what we have because if we don’t – who will?


“I’m still learning to love the parts of myself that no one claps for.” Rudy Francisco


In this century we are subliminally convinced into believing that we (boys/girls and men/women) must look/behave/think in a particular way and if you don’t? Then you’re queer, weird or a freak. This mentality is wrong. We need to learn to be content in ourselves, how we were made and try to live the best way we can with what we have been given. It’s so sad when young girls of 14 contemplate breast enhancement, bum implants or eye laser surgery OR guys get excessively concerned about their penis size, height or muscle density out of peer pressure to look “cool” or “beautiful” in the eyes of their peers.

 


 “Always be a first rate version of yourself and not a second rate version of someone else.” – Judy garland.


My encouragement to you all today is:

  1. Celebrate your strengths/gifts/beauty every day.
  2. Celebrate other people’s strengths/gifts/beauty without allowing it to destabilize your self-confidence.
  3. Know that you are not perfect but our imperfections make us authentic and sets us apart from the rest!
  4. Never allow yourself or others to question your worth – you are one of a kind and if you didn’t exist, the people of the present and future would be missing out – BIG TIME.

 


 “Be yourself, everyone else is already taken.” 19th Century Poet Oscar Wilde


You see, “All people are like grass, and all their glory is like the flowers of the field; the grass withers and the flowers fall,” (1 peter 1:24). This life will end one day – will people be left with a memory of YOU or a shadow of somebody else?

 

 

9 thoughts on “Reflections

    1. Hi Katie,
      Yes I agree! It is hard to put into practice…but you know what? You’re worth it. As cliché as that sounds, it is true. We must personally take on that responsibility to positively invest in ourselves and celebrate ourselves as we are. In doing this we feed life into us, blossom and grow in character. It’s not easy but requires a conscious effort. 🙂

      Like

  1. What a beautiful way to convey the thought. Honestly .. it’s something I’ve struggled against my entire life. As a reformed people-pleaser I realized how much I was changing myself for other people’s approval. While it’s been freeing to be my own person .. the people around me have no idea what to make of it now that I’m not bending over backward for everyone anymore.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It truly is a journey. Be patient and gracious towards yourself, it may take time for people to understand, believe and value the new you. However the key thing is that YOU have started to accept yourself so that has paved the way for others to do so also, We as humans are fickle – we love things, then hate them…they saw you as a people please but soon they will just see you as a lovely person amongst other people. Never get lost in the sea of people, let people see YOU.

      Like

  2. I think this is particularly the case with the internet and social media. When I was growing up, these weren’t as prevalent and on the one hand, I was maybe a bit oblivious to how “plain” I was and thus was just happy in my own skin. On the other hand, the internet has offered me so many makeup tutorials that I actively use in my 20s and now 30s.

    As you grow older, you learn to not care as much because there are things that are much more important in life, such as your health and your relationships with people. I can’t imagine how difficult it is growing up in the internet age as opposed to the internet age growing into you.

    This is advice everyone should take. You are loved by those who care and those that don’t care, don’t matter at all. You are worth more than you think you are.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

